“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Thank You “Blame Buffett”, You Will Be Missed

Leave a comment

I have a bit of an obsession with cruising blogs.  I read several religiously; they can be found on the right of this page.  One funny thing about this list is that the blogs are in the reverse order of how I put them in.  So No. 9 “Blame Buffett” was actually the first one I put in my list.  I have been following this blog almost from the beginning.  It’s first post was on April 29, 2012 and I began reading the blog in early June.

Blame Buffett is a cleverly named blog by Ted and Shirl.  At 61 a number of factors conspired to inspire Ted to “take a break from work, buy a sailboat and cruise.”  He wanted to “see the beauty the Caribbean has to offer from the deck of my own boat…and to live simply, and most important, more freely.”

So with no real sailing experience but lots of desire, drive and research, they purchased an Island Packet 35 in May on Lake Erie.  From May until September they outfitted the boat and did some shakedown sails.  On September 24th they cut the lines heading through Lake Erie, the Erie Canal, the Hudson River and down the ICW for some place warm.  It was great to follow their progress, to read about the fun adventures they were having and how they had kept up the drive and great attitude through several challenges.  Like being on a boat in Annapolis when Frankenstrom (Hurricane Sandy) came crashing at them.

They had made it down to Florida and were heading for the Keys for New Years.  It had been a while since their last update and I noticed that the last post from December 20th had a lot of comments.  When I read the comments I found that Ted has passed away on December 27th in Fort Meyers.

I hadn’t known Ted personally.  We had chatted a few times through his blog.  But it feels like I had lost a friend when I found out he was gone.  It’s a strange thing, we had never met in person, we had only talked about boats and cruising (my two favorite subjects).  But the loss of someone who was such a kindred spirit and had so many of the same dreams is a surprisingly difficult thing.

So thank you Ted.  Thank you for entertaining me with your adventures and continuing to inspire me to get out there sooner rather than waiting for retirement.  As you wrote in your first post “Life is short, and can change in the blink of an eye.  Life is precious,  and meant to be lived.”

Fair winds friend.

Leave a Reply

